Tell me a secret, and I promise I'll tell the world.

Ai Ai delas Alas gets her Christmas wish – – winning Best Actress, Dolphy wins Best Actor MMFF 2010 (Complete List of Winners)

It’s “comedy night” at the 36th Metro Manila Film Festival Awards Night.

Star Cinema’s comedy film Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last Na ‘To!) bagged the most number of awards in tonight’s awards ceremonies held at the Meralco Theater.

The third and said-to-be last installment of this comedy franchise from Star Cinema took home a total of nine awards, including Best Picture and Best Director for Wenn Deramas.

Deramas bested Mike Tuviera for Super Inday and the Golden Bibe and Luis Suarez for RPG: Metanoia.

The comedians also dominated the acting awards.

Ang Tanging Ina Mo‘s lead star, Ai-Ai delas Alas, got her wish when she was named Best Actress for her portrayal of a single mother to more than a dozen children. Ai-Ai was very vocal in saying during interviews that she wants to win the best-actress trophy—wish granted.

Interestingly, the other two nominees for Best Actress are Marian Rivera for Super Inday and the Golden Bibe and Carla Abellana for Shake, Rattle & Roll 12. Jennylyn Mercado of Rosario and Kris Aquino of Dalaw were not among the mentioned nominees.

This year, the MMFF Committee has decided to mention only the top three nominees for each category.

Meanwhile, it was a double victory for Comedy King Dolphy as he won both the Best Actor trophy for his comedy film Father Jejemon and Best Supporting Actor for his drama role in Rosario.

In the Best Actor category, Dolphy bested Vic Sotto for Si Agimat at Si Enteng Kabisote and Yul Servo for Rosario.

In the Best Supporting Actor category, the other nominees were Alwyn Uytingco (Ang Tanging Ina Mo Rin), Roy Alvarez (Father Jejemon), and Sid Lucero (Rosario).

The Comedy King was not able to attend the ceremonies.

Eugene Domingo, on the other hand, was adjudged Best Supporting Actress for her best-friend role in Ang Tanging Ina Mo (Last Na ‘To!).

The comedienne wasn’t also able to accept her award personally since she is now in the United States. Direk Wenn Deramas accepted the award on her behalf.

Eugene bested Alessandra de Rossi and Gina Pareño of Dalaw.

Rosario, a period film about the life of Manny V. Pangilinan’s grandmother, won seven awards, including 2nd Best Picture and the Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Memorial Award.

However, the film’s director, Albert Martinez, was not among the list of Best Director nominees.

The animated film RPG: Metanoia was named 3rd Best Picture.

The MMFF Committee showed no love for the two horror entries—Dalaw and Shake, Rattle & Roll XII—as it both went home empty-handed.

The 36th MMFF Awards Night was hosted by siblings Ruffa, Raymond, and Richard Gutierrez.

Here is the complete list of MMFF 2010 winners:

Best Picture: Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To! (Star Cinema)

2nd Best Picture: Rosario (Cinemabuhay & Studio5)

3rd Best Picture: RPG: Metanoia (Ambient Media & Star Cinema)

Best Actress: Ai-Ai delas Alas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Actor: Dolphy (Father Jejemon)

Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award: Rosario

Best Director: Wenn Deramas (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Screenplay: Mel del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Story: Mel del Rosario (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Supporting Actress: Eugene Domingo (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Supporting Actor: Dolphy (Rosario)

Best Cinematography: Carlo Mendoza (Rosario)

Best Editing: John Wong (Rosario)

Best Production Design: Joel Luna & Miki Hahn (Rosario)

Best Visual Effects: Rico Guttierez & Co. (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote)

Best Makeup: Nestor Dayao & Co. (Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote)

Best Theme Song:- “Kaya Ko” (RPG: Metanioa)

Best Musical Score – Jesse Lasaten (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Sound Recording – (tie) Ditoy Aguila (Super Inday and the Golden Bibe) & Ambient Media (RPG: Metanoia)

Best Child Performer: Xyriel Manabat (Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!)

Best Indie Film: Presa (Adolf Alix)

Gender Sensitive Award: Ang Tanging Ina Mo: Last Na ‘To!

Gender Sensitive Award (special citation for animation): RPG: Metanoia

Best Float: Rosario

Best Dressed: Dennis Trillo and Jennylyn Mercado

Faces of the Night: Sen. Bong Revilla and Sam Pinto

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply

Increase your website traffic with