One More Try Official Poster

The Metro Manila Film Festival is one thing that I miss during the holiday season.  Watching movies with friends and picking out which one would be good to see is part of the fun.

There are two films that I wanted to see.   Bwakaw and One More Try.  I saw the previews and thought it would be something I would like to see simply because of the plot.

I’m not really a fan of Zanjoe Marudo but from the trailer, it seems like he gave his best performance yet after his MMK stint as a cancer victim.  I adore Angel Locsin and Angelica Panganiban so the choice was easy for me.  Dingdong Dantes?  I have reservations about him just like I have reservations about Brad Pitt.  It’s more personal than anything else.  He bagged the Best Actor Award though so he must have been really good.

LIST OF WINNERS. Narito ang listahan ng mga nagwagi sa 2012 Metro Manila Film Festival:

Best Actress – Nora Aunor (Thy Womb)

Best Actor – Dingdong Dantes (One More Try)

Best Picture – One More Try

2nd Best Picture – El Presidente

3rd Best Picture – Sisterakas

Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award – Thy Womb

Best Director – Brillante Mendoza (Thy Womb)

Best Supporting Actress – Wilma Doesn’t (Sisterakas)

Best Supporting Actor – Cesar Montano (El Presidente)

Best Screenplay – Anna Karenina Ranos (One More Try)

Best Original Story – Henry Burgos (Thy Womb)

Gender Sensitive Award – Thy Womb

First Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Awards of Excellence – One More Try

Best Editing – Vito Cahilig (One More Try)

Best Cinematography – Odyssey Flores (Thy Womb)

Best Production Design – Brillante Mendoza (Thy Womb)

Best Visual Effects – Shake Rattle & Roll 14

Best Make-up – El Presidente

Best Theme Song – “El Presidente” by (El Presidente)

Best Musical Score – Jesse Lazaten (El Presidente)

Best Sound – Albert Michael Idioma (El Presidente)

New Wave Category

Best Picture – The Grave Bandits

Jury Prize – Ad Ignorantiam;

Best Director – Tyron Acierto (The Grave Bandits)

Best Actress – Liza Diño (In Nomine Matris)

Best Actor – Allan Paule (Gayak)

Gender Sensitive Award – In Nomine Matris

Student Short Film – (Manibela)

Special Awards:

Female Star of the Night – Nora Aunor

Male Star of the Night – Erap Estrada

SMDC Five Star Male and Female Celebrity of the Night – Zanjoe Marudo and Bianca King


Thy Womb- MMFF poster2

El Presidente- MMFF 2012 poster-sf

Sisterakas- 2012- MMFF

And you thought I was going to stay away from blogging showbiz stuff ay?


Related Posts with Thumbnails

Be the first to comment on "MMFF 2012 – WINNERS"

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: