Tom Rodriguez, Dennis Trillo and Carla Abellana Snubbed at 27th Star Awards?


The phenom show My Husband’s Lover of GMA-7, which captured Filipino audiences worldwide didn’t take home the awards that many Filipinos thought it deserved.

Actors Dennis Trillo and Tom Rodriguez, who successfully portrayed the roles of Eric and Vincent respectively, did not take home the Best Actor Awards during the 27th Star Awards held most recently.  The award was given to Coco Martin for Juan de la Cruz and Richard Yap for his role on Be Careful with My Heart.

I am not saying that Richard Yap and Coco Martin didn’t portray their roles effectively and I couldn’t comment on the matter anyway because I never saw the show.  But if I have to judge Tom and Dennis, they would have received the Best Actor Award from me.

Same goes for Carla Abellana who portrayed the role of Lally in the same teleserye.  I thought she was superb in the portrayal and deserved to win.  Instead, Marian Rivera took the Best Actress Award home.

What do you think of the results?

Here are the winners of the 27th Star Awards:

Best TV Station: ABS CBN (tied with GMA7)

Best Drama Actor: Coco Martin (Juan dela Cruz) and Richard Yap (Be Careful With My Heart)

Best Daytime Drama Series: Be Careful With My Heart (ABS-CBN)

Best Primetime Drama Series: Juan dela Cruz (ABS CBN)

Best Variety Show: It’s Showtime

Best Male Host: Billy Crawford

Best Female Host: Anne Curtis

Best Celebrity Talk Show: Kris TV

Best Celebrity Talk Show Host: Vice Ganda (Gandang Gabi Vice)

Best Game Show Host: Luis Manzano (Deal Or No Deal)

Best Male Newscaster: Julius Babao

Best Female Newscaster: Karen Davila

Best Child Performer: Andrea Brillantes of (Annaliza)

Best Talent Search Show Host: Toni and Alex Gonzaga, and Robi Domingo (The Voice of the Philippines)

Best Drama Supporting Actor: Aaron Villaflor (Juan Dela Cruz) and Arjo Atayde (Dugong Buhay)

Best Drama Supporting Actress: KC Concepcion (Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala)

Best Reality Competition Show Host: Judy Ann Santos (Jr. Masterchef)

Best Public Affairs Program Host: Boy Abunda

Best Public Affairs Program: Bottomline with Boy Abunda

Best Documentary Special: Gusto Kong Mag-Aral

Best Horror/Fantasy Show: Wansapanatym

Best Morning Show: Umagang Kay Ganda

Best Educational Show Host: Kim Atienza (Matanglawin)

Best Male Celebrity-Oriented Show Host: Ogie Diaz (Showbiz Insider Report)

Best New Female Personality: Janella Salvador

Best Musical Variety Show: ASAP 18

Best Youth Oriented Program: Luv U

Best Gag Show: Banana Split (tied with Bubble Gang)

Best Single Performance by an Actor: Carlo Aquino for MMK’s “Pulang Laso” episode

Best Single Performance by an Actress: Nikki Gil for MMK’s “Ilog” episode


Related Posts with Thumbnails

4 Comments on "Tom Rodriguez, Dennis Trillo and Carla Abellana Snubbed at 27th Star Awards?"

  1. How did the Best TV Station Award get a tie result with GMA when most of the awards went to ABS-CBN?

  2. Dennis Trillo should have won bcoz of his superb performance as Eric

  3. rein mendoza | November 28, 2013 at 5:12 pm |

    DENNIS TRILLO is still the Best Actor for me.

  4. the best actor award should be given to Dennis trillo. PMPC should give credit where credit is due!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: